Prom 2014: A Classic Hollywood Affair

Tuesday, 15 April 2014 08:30



Book Fair Fiesta!

Monday, 07 April 2014 08:35


April 10 - 18 in the media center. Shop online @


Irwin Excels at Two State Competitions

Monday, 17 March 2014 07:56

Congratulations to our ICHS FBLA State Competitors!


Cole Harper placed third in Impromptu Speaking and advances to Nationals in June (28 state competitors).

Luke Gamble place seventh in Public Speaking II (32 state competitors).

Also competing were Jeremy Espano (Business Presentation - 26 competitors at state level), Maggie Martin (Accounting I), Maricarmen Tinajero (Business Communication), Cole Harper, Collin Vickers and Grant Hudson (Agribusiness), Kaley Youghn (Personal Finance), Jeremy Espano (Business Calculations).

Chapter 722 received an Honor Roll Chapter of the Year (which is the highest a chapter can earn with less than 50 members).

ICHS Future Business Leaders of America are sponsored by Dianne Engelmann. Our FBLA members did  a great job representing Irwin County. 

Three Irwin students competed both in Atlanta for State FBLA and Warner Robins for State Literary Saturday. Luke Gamble finished third in state in Boys Dramatic Interpretation. Jeremy Espano finished as the state runner-up in Boys Essay and Cole Harper finished as the state runner-up in Boys Extemporaneous Speaking. The ICHS Literary team is coached by Wendy McFarland.

Congratulations to the ICHS Literary team for their finish at State Literary!


CTAE Students of the Month

Monday, 17 March 2014 07:49

Each month teachers from the Career, Technical and Agriculture Education Departments

select a CTAE student of the month. The criteria for selecting the students of the month are:

good citizenship, attendance, respect for others, leadership qualities, attitude, classroom

participation, responsibility, grades and work ethics. Pictured are the February 2014

outstanding students (L to R):

Business and Computer Science: Rebeca Tinajero

Engineering & Technology: Tanner Spell

Family and Consumer Science: Alaska Harris

Agriculture: Brice Sanders (not pictured)

These students are now candidates for the CTAE Student of the Year Award to be presented at

Honors Day in May.

Writing Fair Winners

Wednesday, 12 March 2014 08:10

Irwin County students recently participated in the Georgia Young Authors' competition, which is sponsored by RESA. This is one of the few writing competitions that does not assign a topic and allows students to write either poetry or prose. Three winners were chosen for each grade.

High School Winners

(Front row) 9th grade: Andrew Marsh - 1st, Rachel Gentry - 2nd, Brittney Holton - 3rd
10th grade: Shane Bracewell - 1st, Dakota Newmans - 2nd, Jaquaez Bryant - 3rd

(Back row) 11th grade: Jeremy Espano - 1st, Caleb Holloway - 2nd, Landon Rowe - 3rd
12th grade: Holly Batterton - 1st, Kristen McMillan - 2nd, Lily Zheng - 3rd (not pictured)


Page 1 of 26


Georgia Toll-Free School Safety Hotline

The 1-877-SAY-STOP toll- free hotline was created by the Georgia Department of Education.
Students can anonymously report anyone who has a weapon, has threatened to bring a weapon to school, or has violated any other school safety rules.
The hotline hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.; after 5 p.m. all calls will be forwarded to the GA Bureau of Investigation.
Callers will not be asked to reveal their identities.
Make the call; you can make a difference!